#PitMad is right around the corner. Are you ready?

#PitMad is on the 25th of this month. If you’re anything like me, you’re in edit mode, trying to tighten your MS up and scrambling to get everything complete and proofread and critiqued in order to be ready. Although it’s exhausting, it is also very exciting. And thankfully, my family understands.

I figured I just write a few interesting things that are on my mind.

Firstly, instead of re-posting Timber Point’s first few chapters, I edited the ones from my earlier post. If you haven’t checked them out, have a look and tell me what you think. All comments welcomed.

Lately I’ve discussed POV with other writers. Many people I speak with prefer third person limited, but I prefer first person. I see benefits to both. I find myself amazed at how differently writers approach their WIP. Some people create detailed outlines before they start. Some people pre-write. Others, like myself, use no outline and do no pre-writing, also known as pantsers. In the past when I’ve tried to outline I find myself staring at a blank computer screen. But when I sit down to start the novel– it pours out of me so fast I can barely keep up. Go figure.

I guess it’s a little like the kid in school who stares at a written exam and freezes. But give him that same exam orally and he’ll ace it every time. I’ve also heard of people going back to their outline when they’re writing their manuscript and changing things that evolved in the story, adding little unexpected details that arose during the writing process.

None are wrong, just different. It’s fascinating, or I’m sleep deprived. Probably the later 🙂

Well, goodnight everyone. Rest up. We’ve got another big day of editing tomorrow.

Don't be shy. Tell me what you think.

