A taste of my new novel, Timber Point

I have finished the second draft of my WIP, Timber Point. Before I went through it a third time, I took the time to research everything I could find on successful novels. What tips they used to become successful. What style worked better than others. What grammatical nuances they possessed verse less successful novels. It was important to me to stay true to my voice and style, though. I did not want to change, per se, I wanted to improve. Through many blogs, websites, and ebooks, I discovered a gold mine of tips. And, for a change, everyone agreed! There was no conflicting advice– which surprised me! Usually when you search a subject you get five different answers to the same question. And every answer steers you in a different direction. But not in this circumstance, I’m happy to report. I will share what I learned in my next post.

Since I am so excited, and have no beta readers at the moment, I would like to post my first and second chapters. I’ve run them by my writing group and got rave reviews. However, that little voice inside wonders if they’re just being polite.

Please tell me if they grab you and what, if anything, needs changing. I wrote a new first chapter. Originally the novel began with chapter two. Which brings me to my second question. Which chapter works better for you as a hook, one or two? I made the change because I felt it was important to begin my novel in first person, with my protagonist, instead of with my antagonist’s actions and movements.

I am sure it’s not perfect. It is, after all, a WIP. So be kind. But please be honest! Blowing smoke, sort of speak, will not help me if you don’t mean it.

Thank you in advance. I’m curious what you think. And don’t worry, they are short chapters. Which I did purposefully to build tension. James Patterson uses this technique in some of his Alex Cross books and I really like it. It keeps you off-kilter, not knowing what will happen next.

Here goes… Below are chapter one and two of Timber Point, formally Timber Grove Point.

UPDATE: I HAVE RE-POSTED THREE CHAPTERS. CHECK 3/14/15 POST ENTITLED, REVISED CHAPTERS OF TIMBER POINT

Don't be shy. Tell me what you think.

